Euro 2016


Belgium coach Marc Wilmots named a 24-man pre-Euro 2016 squad on Thursday, without injured captain Vincent Kompany, who will likely hand the armband to Eden Hazard.

Below is the list:

Goalkeepers: Thibaut Courtois (Chelsea/ENG), Simon Mignolet (Liverpool/ENG), Jean-Francois Gillet (Mechelen)

Defenders: Toby Alderweireld (Tottenham/ENG), Jan Vertonghen (Tottenham/ENG), Nicolas Lombaerts (Zenit St-Petersburg/RUS), Thomas Vermaelen (Barcelona/ESP), Jason Denayer (Galatasaray/TUR) Dedrick Boyata (Celtic/SCO), Bjorn Engels (Bruges), Jordan Lukaku (Ostende), Thomas Meunier (Bruges)

Midfielders: Moussa Dembele (Tottenham/ENG), Radja Nainggolan (Roma/ITA), Marouane Fellaini (Manchester United/ENG), Axel Witsel (Zenit St-Petersburg), Eden Hazard (Chelsea/ENG), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City/ENG), Dries Mertens (Napoli/ITA), Yannick Carrasco (Atletico Madrid/ESP

Forwards: Mitchy Batshuayi (Marseille/FRA), Romelu Lukaku (Everton/ENG), Christian Benteke (Liverpool/ENG), Divock Origi (Liverpool/ENG)

Reserves: Matz Sels (Gent), Laurent Ciman (Montreal Impact/CAN), Laurens De Bock (Bruges), Guillaume Gillet (Nantes/FRA), Nacer Chadli (Tottenham Hotspur/ENG), Thorgan Hazard (Borussia Moenchengladbach/GER), Kevin Mirallas (Everton/ENG)


The coach has doubts over Barcelona’s Thomas Vermaelen, Dedrick Boyata of Celtic and Nicolas Lombaerts, who plays for Zenit St Petersburg.

All three will be monitored during training.

Wilmots added six players to a reserve list due to the number of defensive injury uncertainties.

Amongst them are Tottenham’s Nacer Chadli and Kevin Mirallas of Everton.

Muh Zer’noh

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s